Skip to main content

What is Curriculum for Excellence?

Curriculum for Excellence aims to achieve a transformation in education in Scotland by providing a coherent, more flexible and enriched curriculum from 3 to 18.

The curriculum includes the totality of experiences which are planned for children and young people through their education, wherever they are being educated.

The 3-18 curriculum aims to ensure that all children and young people in Scotland develop the attributes, knowledge and skills they will need to flourish in life, learning and work.

The knowledge, skills and attributes learners will develop will allow them to demonstrate four key capacities – to be successful learners, confident individuals, responsible citizens and effective contributors.

Developing skills and attributes
It aims to develop four capacities, helping children to become:

  • Successful Learners
  • Confident individuals
  • Responsible citizens
  • Effective contributors

The totality of experiences
The curriculum includes all of the experiences which are planned for children and young people through their education, wherever they are being educated. These experiences are grouped into four categories:-

Curriculum areas and subjects - The curriculum areas are the organisers for setting out the experiences and outcomes. Each area contributes to the four capacities.
Interdisciplinary learning - How the curriculum should include space for learning beyond subject boundaries.
Ethos and life of the school - The starting point for learning is a positive ethos and climate of respect and trust based upon shared values across the school community.
Opportunities for personal achievement - Pupils need opportunities for achievements both in the classroom and beyond, giving them a sense of satisfaction and building motivation, resilience and confidence.

Added to this, because children learn through all of their experiences - in the family and community, pre-school centre, nursery and school - the curriculum aims to recognise and complement the contributions that these experiences can make.

Experiences and Outcomes
The experiences and outcomes are set out in lines of development which describe progress in learning. They are organised into the eight curriculum areas:

  • Expressive arts
  • Health and wellbeing
  • Languages (including Literacy and English and Modern Languages)
  • Mathematics
  • Religious and moral education
  • Sciences
  • Social studies
  • Technologies

Click on the links below for further information: